What Will I Do Without TV?

by yooeel

I don’t know how other UK toddlers are sleeping in this heat, but ever since the light evenings started Little Boy has been up and down like a yo-yo, and while he definitely can’t be blamed for that, it has sent me into a bit of a rut in the evenings.  My usual routine of late has been:

7pm – bedtime

8pm – Little Boy finally passes out

8.05pm – Kettle on, find the least boring thing on the iPlayer and watch it for an hour

9.05pm – Skim read rubbish on the net that I’ve already looked at 3 times before

10pm – Bed, feeling underwhelmed at what I’ve got done with my ‘free time’

So, I have made a resolution to cut the TV time, or at least not watch it every night.  Here’s what I plan to do with all that extra time.

  • Blog – I also contribute to a group blog called A Classroom Called Life
  • Knit – I have a jumper on the go for Little Boy and a gift on my needles for a friend’s baby – I’m also hoping to get a few jumpers done for Baby no 3 seeing as I’ve never had an autumn newborn before!
  • Bake bread

  • Bake other tasty things to keep our packed lunches cheap and varied
  • Write to friends
  • Write some fiction or poetry, maybe even enter some competitions for dosh
  • Paint my nails
  • Wear face packs
  • Have ridiculously long baths with my book
  • Trawl the Money Saving Expert Forums for frugal living tips
  • Start doing my pregnancy exercises
  • Listen to my pregnancy relaxation CDs
  • Make jam

  • Plan for Christmas
  • Plan play ideas
  • Learn something new
  • Earn vouchers on Valued Opinions
  • Listen to the radio
  • Listen to our CD collection
  • Read more

  • Enter some competitions
  • Send off for some freebies
  • Beat hubby at Trivial Pursuit on a regular basis
  • Eat elaborate suppers
  • Watch some TED talks
  • Make lots and lots of lists

Sounds fun!  I can’t wait to get stuck in.  Right – Little Boy has nodded off, time to get the custard creams out and get cracking on those knitting projects.  I’ll let you know how I get on.

What do you like to do in your free time? Do you limit screen time or make a conscious effort to pursue your hobbies? Let me know, and comment.

