Everyday Frugal: 13th July, 2013

by yooeel

Apparently it’s the hottest day of the year today, and I’m not arguing with that diagnosis.  Hubby was working at a free family fun day in our local area so we had a wander down.  It was really good and they have more going on all summer if you’re in the Oxford area.

 

The fun day itself was free (in fact, Hubby was working, so it was less than free!) but we weren’t going to blow the budget by buying food there.  I whipped up a packed lunch featuring yesterday’s currant muffins and some pieces from our megasalami.  The megasalami is a salami sausage that we get every so often from Lidl – Hubby usually wants ham in a few of his packed lunches for work, so once in a while I buy this for £3.99 from Lidl and it lasts us all nearly 3 weeks, so much longer than those timid little packs of cooked meats you can end up paying £2 each for.

There was loads going on for Little Boy to get stuck into, painting, reading in the library tent, splashing in the water, playing with small world figures and planting seeds in his own hand-finished plant pot.

I was happy too to come away with a free copy of Red Dust Road by Jackie Kay from the library stand.

I’ve wanted to read it ever since I heard Jackie Kay talking about it in a bookshop in London, and there it was for free!

We found somewhere shady to sit, and Little Boy made short work of yesterday’s muffins.

And once we were done Little Boy and I headed home where he had a snooze and I sat inside, hiding from the hottest day of the year.

