Reasons to be cheerful: 15th – 21st April, 2013

by yooeel

1. Flowers from a friend.

IMG_2991

2. Finishing The Beach by Alex Garland and The Book Thief by Markus Zusack.

I’ve had The Beach on my bookshelf for about 70 years now, so it was about time I got round to reading it.  I loved it.  The self-centred, unreliable narrator brought to mind some of my favourite Graham Greene characters and the last half of the book was a lovely, rankling, paranoia-fest.  I love books where the narrator slowly goes mad, The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath being the all-time, too obvious to mention pinnacle of this.

I’ve read The Book Thief before, and was one of the ladies who recommended it to our book group.  I didn’t enjoy it as much the second time around, but I still cried like a fool.

3. Knitting a jumper for Little Boy Yooeel.  Yes, it’s a jumper.

IMG_2988

4. Sunny days are here again.

5. Eating at Al-Andalus.  Garlic mushrooms a go-go!

 

